toggle quoted messageShow quoted text
When you say send the member list, would a TSV or CSV file work? I just tried and YahooGroups will allow this for up to 1000 names.
Also once you have moved the members, will they get an email automatically saying that they must create a password, etc.? Or do we need to ask them to create Groups.io accounts first?
If you go to the Yahoo Group Moderators option in Management/Manage members, all of the moderators and owner appear there with a crown that is Blue for the owner, green for the Moderators. It includes the email address for the owner and moderator which of course are different for each.
I can think of another problem.
In the process of proving to you that a person is an owner of an existing group, how would you distinguish between whether the person is actually the owner or just a moderator?
If you would send a message to the -owner address expecting a reply from the owner proving that he received that message as the owner, I would point out to you that all the moderators also receive those messages.
I would bet that there are countless numbers of groups where there are moderators who would just love to steal the group from the owner.
That would be a slick way to do it.
I have a suggestion, but, it would mean more work for you, if you think this would be a problem.
On 1/3/2015 12:51 PM, Mark Fletcher wrote:
Happy 2015! Now that the holidays are over, I'll be able to get back to serious development work.
I've been trying to think of ways to make transfers of existing groups to Groups.io easier. My problem with having direct add of members generally available is that it tends to get abused and Groups.io gets labeled a spammer. But I want to make it easy to transfer groups over.
If someone can prove to me that they own an existing group, I think that's enough of a bar to permit their members to be added directly. So, here's an idea:
- Create the new group at Groups.io
- Email the member list and a link to the old group to a support account I'll set up.
- I'll verify that the old group's description has been changed, and directly add the members to the new group.