1. Member is deleted by owner using the web interface.
2. The former member goes to the group home page and clicks "Apply for membership in this group"
3. Upon entering their email address and clicking "Confirm Email Address", they get an error:
That email address is already registered. To use it, Log In.
If they click the "Log In" link they are prompted for a password, then logged in but have "no subscriptions".